REALLY basic speaker assembly questions, Fostex full-range

ChicagoTom

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Hey there,

So I've finally got my Fostex FE107EN speakers and the gorgeous enclosures from a vendor on eBay (this one: https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Line-s...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649)

I've never done this before, and I've only soldered one thing in my entire life, so I'm a total noooob. I've got a few questions. First, there are no pre-drilled holes in the enclosures. I'm not sure how best to proceed. I placed the Fostex over the opening and used black marker to show where the screws should be attached. Should I pre-drill some holes here? Or just drill the screw directly after placing the speaker over the opening?20181103_183421.jpg 20181103_183427.jpg 20181103_183445.jpg

Here are some pix:

Second question. What is the best way to connect the internal wiring to the speaker? I've got a stripping tol to expose the wire from the internal wiring. Where exactly should I attach the bare wire? I've got some very small spades from an auto supply store; is is best to attach the internal wiring to one of those connectors first and then attach it to those tabs on the speaker?

Or, can I just solder the exposed wiring directly to those tabs, looping them through the opening in the tabs? If someone has a picture of how it would look after connecting the wiring, that would be very helpful.

20181103_183538.jpg

OK - your hole marking method looks fine - ensure you use a bit big enough as those fostex screws are fat. As its a new hole - the first time you put the screw in, do it very carefully, shielding the speaker cone from any slips with your hands, put a little bit of soap on the thread to be safe.