Rectifiers: either rarer than hens teeth or I don't know what I'm looking for

oneinchside

Openly Baffled
probably the later. :nerd:

I'm trying to refurbish the amp section in an old Columbia c1457 console, I've found a source for the caps (and a isolation transformer as well) but it has a Selenium Rectifier (marked Britton 1305) and I can't figure out how to replace it.

The original idea was to just get a silicon rectifier and swap it out, but I have no idea what specs to look for or how to find them. (I'm new at this guys, I'm still just learning what a rectifier is)

As far as I can tell it's a half wave rectifier since it only has one wire coming in and one going out. (everybody that I have talked to has said "that's stupid, why would they put a half wave rectifier in there?!) I guess this is the simplest, low budget, scraping the bottom of the barrel power supply possible (or at least it's starting to seem that way) and that according to the schematic it is spec'd at 150 m.a., but 150 m.a. of what?

How do I figure out what the specs are on the rectifier and find a substitute?

max surge current?
reverse current ir?
forward voltage drop?

what about:
power dissipation?
peak reverse voltage?

Of course I'm writing this while I'm looking at Mouser's page of Bridge Rectifiers... Am I supposed to be looking for a bridge rectifier?
http://www.mouser.com/Semiconductors/Diodes-Rectifiers/Bridge-Rectifiers/_/N-2xpqk?Keyword=rectifier&FS=True

Should I just build a better/safer/more appropriate power supply?
If so, where do I find instructions/schematics to do it?

y'know, I wanted to tackle this and another small amp first before diving into my well loved Fishers and guitar amps... I guess this is the learning that I wanted... :eek:

The more I learn the more I realize I don't know a d4mn thing. This is very humbling. (probably good for me)

here's some photos and schems if that'll help:
columbia-c145guts800x600.jpg

columbia-c1457schem800x502.jpg