Red Boat Fish Sauce and Macaroni and Cheese; Yumma Goochie Buffalo Bob.

transmaster

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Some of My oldest food memories is spooning Macaroni and Cheese into my mouth. Macaroni and Cheese is surprisingly difficult to make. Getting the cheese taste, and color correct is not easy, and the texture of the macaroni has to be just so. When I was a Navy Cook I kind of cheated. I added the cheddar cheese until till I got the taste I wanted. But if I went for color the Cheddar Cheese the Navy used at the time gave it a gritty texture. So what I did was add yellow food coloring to get the color. It was a huge hit with the Sailors. Since that time with access to much better quality cheese I have not had to resort to cheating. There is still the balance between the macaroni, I have always used Conchiglie, (shell roni) or something similar, and the cheese flavors. My favorite Cheddar cheese is the Tillamook 3 year white cheddar. There are fancier Cheddars but this one is available in local supermarkets.

I decided to add a little Red Boat Fish Sauce to my latest batch of Mac-n-cheese. I don't really have a recipe I have made it for so long I just make it. I could not believe how it enhanced the flavors. It brought all of the flavors together and than magnified them. If you want a fast taste test get some of the Macaroni and Cheese from KFC.

Red Boat Fish Sauce continues to astound me. So far nothing in the way of main dishes has not been improved with its addition. I just had a thought, Red Boat added to the stuffing in a Turkey, hmmm :idea:

Last edited:
Fish sauce is loaded with glutamic acid. This fits in the category of the 5th taste sense, umami (essetially, savor). You can use it, so that its taste is overt, or you can add a splash or two, and you cannot taste it, for itself, but it will wake up whatever other flavors are there.