reel to reel tube amp

Low low

Grettings to all the tubeaholics. I am an old guy with a new, keen interest in tube power. But even though I have alot of age behind me, I'm a raw rookie when it comes to tubes. Love the sound, but need to learn everything. I recently acquired an old Crescent tube powered reel to reel in disarray. While it's missing some pieces on the outside, the amp and everything inside is complete. I'm assuming this would be a simple mono amp? And if so I am wondering if this little amp would work with an old Trio tuner I also have? Like I said, I am a newb at tubes, but would love to learn with something cheap. I can try and post pics if that would help? Any assistance would be appreciated.
Tom

Greetings and welcome. I would hazard a guess that the Crescent could almost certainly used in this capacity. It might not be the easiest first project, though, because reel amps are sometimes laid out less linearly than typical audio amps, using up available space inside a tape recorder chassis and case. There are exceptions, like the Akai/Roberts and Ampex amps. So please do post a pic of yours.

It is also easiest to do if you can get some documentation on what you are starting with, ie a schematic diagram. So do some googling and see what comes up.All that said, though, if you list the tubes that are used in the amp section chances are that we can still help you.

Where are you located?

Here's a front shot of the amp. The tubes are as follows: 12au7a, 12ax7, 6x5gt and 6v6gt.
23ita4h.jpg

Oh heck yeah, that looks like a really good candidate. Is there an output transformer mounted to the speaker?

What model is that?

Whoops! Accidentally posted one for the visually impaired. Have to try and fix that. I'm from Edmonton Alberta, Canada.

No output transformer. It had 2 speakers that were simply run in parallel. The Model number is TR-722. I have the schematic glued to the lid.