Restoring uncle's Sansui 9090DB

Discussion in 'Exclusively Sansui' started by Juan9568, May 5, 2018.

1. Juan9568

Juan9568 Member

Hi guys. I'm about to begin with the restoration of my uncle's old Sansui 9090DB. The receiver is in a pretty bad condition, it has been serviced by bad technicians and they replaced parts with cheaper or wrong ones.

Issues:

. Burnt resistors
    . Blown fuses
    . Blown outputs
    . Scratchy pots

A few months ago I decided to start with the restoration myself as there are no good technicians where I live and trying to get quality parts it's almost impossible.

I decided to do the following:

. Rebuild from scratch F2624 Driver board
    . Replace capacitors and resistors from F2656 Power supply
    . New fuses
    . New outputs
    . Clean all pots

Because I'm not an expert in electronics I thought it would be easier for me to start with a new F2624 instead of troubleshooting the whole board. So I got the new F2624 PCB and most of the other parts from mouser and digikey.

Also built myself a DBT cause I don't wanna blow everything up on the first run but I don't know yet what type of bulb I need to use for the thing to protect the amp, I got a 70W but don't know if it is the right wattage. I'm on a 220v area. Any suggestions??

What most scares me is when time comes to adjust the DC and Bias current, I know it is a very fragile thing and needs to be done correctly.

I would really appreciate it if someone can give me any tips, tricks, suggestions so I can make this restoration right.

THanks!!!

Here are some pics of the amp before I begin. I will be posting updates on my progress.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

bolero and HarmanKardon like this.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. HarmanKardon

HarmanKardon Tubes still smell funny Subscriber

You know that this receiver is a vintage Hifi legend?

Good Luck! :thumbsup:

3. Juan9568

Juan9568 Member