Revox B760

Discussion in 'Tuners' started by Coopmv, Feb 10, 2015.

1. Coopmv

Coopmv New Member

I have owned my Revox B760 tuner for a number of years. It is vintage gear from the mid to late 70's. A few days ago, I decided to do some FM listening but to my surprise, I was not able to power up the tuner. It was months ago when I last powered up the tuner. I located the fuse housing for the external fuse and picked up the right fuse based on the owners manual from Radio Shack today. Unfortunately, the new fuse has not changed anything, which leads me to believe some internal fuses might have been blown as well. I am a complete novice when it comes to electronic gears and really do not want to open up the box until I am reasonably sure about what I am doing.

Can someone who is familiar with Revox equipment care to shed some light on this problem?

Please register to disable this ad.

2. guiller

guiller Toscaninichus Australis

3. Peter_HK

Peter_HK New Member

There is a small door in middle of the bottom plate that gives access to some additional fuses located on the secondary side of the power transformer.

The B760 often shows problems with the electrolytics on the power supply board. Sometimes it is sufficient to have a closer look at them to find the faulty part. I also had a defective rectifier that was killed by the defective capacitor.

A good start is the download of the manual and then a check of the fuses and the DC voltages at the power board

Peter

4. backmd

backmd Active Member

Revox B760 tuner 3-3-18

No dangerous shorts, but 22 ohms across line cord with the power switch on and off?

Service manual says transformer primary is always connected and the transformer secondary is switched on and off.

The voltage selector on the rear of the unit is set at 120 volts. Burning 0.2 amps at 120 volts x 0.85 =20.4 watts. Turns on but no audio output no signal strength with rotation of tuning