Rotel thoughts?

JeffCov

Besides making a might tasty dip, is there a general consensus on Rotel? I recently found a Rotel RX-400A for $20 so I figured, what the heck? I have been swapping my receivers around recently and started using this one last night. I went from a Marantz 2245 to a Pioneer SX680 and now to the Rotel. I haven't really had much time with it yet, but I was wondering...how is the Rotel line in comparison to some of the others? I guess I am asking if they are looked at by people like some "good named" or are they a lower more "value" manufacturer? I like it pretty good so far, just curious. As you can probably guess, I am still kinda new to older gear and basically wondering what I got here.
I also bought a Sansui 3500 pictured below. That one is getting auditioned next. Sorry about picture quality, I had to take with my phone.

JeffCov

Attachments

• 0526111710.jpg
    0526111710.jpg
    42.1 KB · Views: 195
  • 0526111721.jpg
    0526111721.jpg
    39.8 KB · Views: 129
Last edited:
I just sold one of those, and kinda sorry I did(believe it or not, sold at the same time as a Pio SX-680). I thought that was a very nice sounding, solidly built little early 70s love. Sounded on par with my smaller Sansuis, which is very nice to my ears. I would def put it on the low end of high end.

General consensus on the RSP-976 I have is it sounds great! Its a 5 channel pre but I only use it for 2 in my main system.Also have the Rotel phono pre stage-sounds great to me also.
Rotel=good stuff to me!

Ra-812

I have an RA-812 integrated. I tried replacing it with a much higher powered SAE, a Technics SU-8600, several receivers and it has remained.
While not ultra powerful it has a very nice level of detail, a great phono section with capacitance and resistance loading choices, and beautiful meters!
It's not part of a multi thousand dollar system but it is well built, well designed, and suits my system just fine.