RS1.5 Watkins refoam

Speedbump71

Buried in speakers
Anything special I need to know about refoaming a Watkins woofer vs a standard woofer. I have some experience, but would like to know any tricks, or things to watch out for before I do this.

I am close enough to Watkins Audio I could just drive them up there, but I'm cheap and I like to do things myself.

Is the RS1.5 setup worth putting money into? Mine had the dogear stands, so I have the ugly holes in the side of the cabinet when they are not installed.

Most folks would say YES they are worth putting the effort into.
Getting the old foam and glue off the woofer basket and cone is a big part of the project, after that things may get easier and faster.
It is imperative that the cones be centered when refoaming, other wise you could damage them or end up redoing the refoam. There are a few different ways to center the cones, Google them or maybe someone here will offer their advice.
Some creative putty work (like mixing a couple colors of minwax putty to get the correct color tone if need be) will make the dog ear holes disappear from a few feet away.

My guess is the glue will come off of that poly cone pretty easily, but who knows.

I was more concerned there were special "tricks" to getting the Watkins woofers right vs a standard woofer. I know JBL woofers can be tough due to the tighter gap in the magnet for example.

The woodwork should be no problem, I have some black water rings to get out of the oak anyway.

I refoamed my RSM woofers (pretty much the same as your Watkins except one voice coil) many years ago.
Can't remember how hard or easy the glue cleanup was. Seems like getting every bit of glue and foam removed was time consuming.
And I think there was still a small amount of glue/foam that wasn't removed.
Botched the refoam, one ended up with voice coil rub.

DANGER DANGER ---Boring story ahead...

Put them in the closet, bought some Snells.
17 years later one of the Snells fell over, damaged foam.