SAE 3022 Integrated/2200 amp.

eetechTom

I recently purchased an SAE 3022 integrated amp in need of repair. My understanding is this is a 3000 pre amp, and 2200 amp in one box. I haven’t received the amp yet, but I have some general questions regarding amp repair. Can you tell I’m anxious to get this running Lol!

First a little background about myself. I was an audio tech from 1981 to 1994, and worked on a few 2400L’s and the like. Believe it or not this the first separate I have ever purchased. It was receivers only for me, and I owned a SX1250 receiver for many years.

There is a post on this website regarding DC offset issues. llwhtt I believe had the following response:
The DC offset will have to be dealt with by replacing the input diff. transistors. The VAS stage quiescent current is adjusted by "selecting" R21/22 until you get approx. 1.6-1.7VDC across R35/35 and/or R37/38.

My question is do you always recommend adjusting the VAS Q current while the amp is apart, or only if you have problems.

Thanks,
Tom

Last edited:
Checking the VAS current is usually part of the check out procedure in the service manual, if wrong it needs to be addressed. I just did this on a MKIIICM I rebuild. This is an early version with no adjustment pot., had to tack the appropriate resistor on the back of the board.

Craig

Last edited:
Thanks Craig,
Hoping to dig into this amp soon. I have an old Harmony guitar amp I need to finish up and sell so I have some play money.

I once owned that amp. The preamp section was dead and I was only using the power amp. lovely beast! I sold it a couple years ago for a very decent amount.

I was told the preamp on mine works, but the power amp is dead. Might be time to stock up on solder wick!

BC8F9AD8-C826-460F-B239-9E0C5B60A435.jpeg 4A075A23-EB9D-4D77-9CC0-E63EBD8DC530.jpeg

Here are a couple of pics of the driver board. The schematic notes that all resistors are 1/4 w. Are the orange resistors like R60 really 1/4 w?