SAMSUNG DVD-HD841 SACD Analog Plug Distortion!

Will2Bl

Hello!

I have a SAMSUNG DVD-HD841 player that supports SACD and DVD-Audio. Unfortunately, whenever the RCA analog outputs are used, the sound is extremely distorted. The same (non-SACD) sources played using the optical and digital coaxial outputs are clean.

I'm wondering what the cause of this might be. I'd like to be able to use it as a backup SACD player and am hoping that it is fixable.

Thanks...

internal DAC's probably flako. it's only important for SACD playback that only uses the RCA. CD audio
continues out the optical/digitals.

this is an excellent unit. Fixing it is another universe - it's all surface mount and way too
tiny for my eyes. there are however, docs out there with schematics and upgrade how-to's.

look for muting circuits (don't know if they exist in this unit). I hate muting circuits.

Thanks for the info, Bob. I am an amateur who managed to switch out some caps and transistors on an amp (probably just barely), but I'm guessing this is another level altogether. Is the DAC a microchip or otherwise higher level of tech?

there's a service manual available and on p5-1 there's a diagram that has a couple sections
fed from the DSP (digital Signal Processor) that (end) results in left and right channels signals
outputs (how's that for plural phrases) but another path takes the digital signals directly out
to the digital and optical outputs.

these sections seem to do a bunch of things, I am probably oversimplifying and misleading,
like process the SACD's DSD into PCM, and do some x-bit processing before
doing the Digital-to-Analog thing.

my guess is the only place you could "hear" analog signals is at the end of this signal chain
and anything before this end stage back to the output of the DSP section is all digital
and will need a different class of tools to inspect, let alone.determine what's going on.