Sansui 500 A?

c3conv

At last a forum where Sansui enthusiast are! I found a sansui 500 A receiver for sale at about $150. I don't know if this is expensive in your part of the country but here in Asia I guess I wouldn't know also. Anyway, can someone help me whether this is worth buying? What quality of sound can I expect from this amp. Will it blow my current Pioneer A-400X away? What about the tuner are they of good quality too? Lastly, the phono stage are they good enough? The seller is a technician who does practically all sansui stuff. He said the parts are readily available but I wouldn't beleive him that much yet because he is trying to sell me the receiver. He said its in running order. Will set an appointment with him but I wouldn't know how to check it since I am new in this vintage hobbie and ......excited....which means i wouldn't trust much my decissions. Can any of you help me on this cause I don't know if its really worth it.
Thanks
:dunno:

$150 is not too bad, a little high for here, but not bad. 500As are nice units. The tuner section is typical sansui, which is good. The phono section is the only part of the 500A that is not so good. It is solid state, not tube.

All the tubes and electronics are available except for the transformers. The big power resistors would also be hard to replace. The oil caps in the amp, preamp, and power supply should be replaced. It may be fine now but will only be a matter of time before something goes (I have repaired mine twice in the last 3 years and it has now broke a third time.) At the very minimum the 0.005 uF caps in parallel with the diodes in the PS and the 0.3 uF caps in the amp section should be replaced.
Also check inside, any caps that have a oily substance on them should be replaced.

My 500A is very nice when its working. It is just as good as the American tube amps of the time. Mine has a slight reliability problem though :D but replacing some of the caps should solve that.