sansui au-4900

roseskunk

hi guys- i just got an au-4900 for 25 bucks on epay. so why did it sell so low? is this a dog or what? it's my first sansui- well actually second but the first doesn't count as it's going back...i'm seduced by the looks of them and am hoping it sounds as good. does someone know where i can find a service manual for it...i'm a novice and don't want to screw it up, but i'm sure it'll need a cleaning...anyway, thanks in advance. if you've got one, i'd like to know what you think...anything i should look out for?

Are you saying that a Sansui might be a "dog", lol? Seriously, that is a great little amp. I don't have that particular one but have had others in that series. They're built well and sound good. As with all older gear, an initial cleaning, inspection, and measurements is almost mandatory. Some will go as far as an immediate recapping and replacing of resistors but I'm assuming this is somewhat of a budget item. You don't have to take it that far. I start off using my older gear gently, letting everything wake up slowly.

thanks westend. if it is a dog, i hope it's like mine, a smart chocolate lab named Rose. honestly i wouldn't have a clue as to how to replace caps or resistors. i'd love to learn but don't know where to look. if i can clean the thing i'll feel good... :thmbsp:

roseskunk said:
thanks westend. if it is a dog, i hope it's like mine, a smart chocolate lab named Rose. honestly i wouldn't have a clue as to how to replace caps or resistors. i'd love to learn but don't know where to look. if i can clean the thing i'll feel good... :thmbsp:

Would Rose like to meet a dumb chocolate named Gandalf. Maybe some of the smartness will rub off. :D

As for the Sansui, I would never back off from buying any of the vintage Sui stuff. Sansui probably makes up 90% of my gear, none of which have disappointed me.