Sansui AU-999 dead right channel

blacknapkins

Sansui AU-999 dead right channel-IT'S ALIVE!

I'm a newbie here but have all of my orginal Pioneer & Kenwood equipment from the 70's. I recently picked up an AU-999 amp & was excited to try it out.
I do not have any manuals but it appears that the right channel is out. The left channel works in both A & B speaker selection. The right does not. I had the cover off before I tried it out & it is fairly clean inside. Any suggestions on what the problem could possibly be?

thanks
Blacknapkins

First, welcome to AK.
You'll need to check voltage at the putput transistors. You can use the working channel as an indication until the manual arrives. You should find +/- xx VDC at the collector (the outside case) of the transistor. Compare to the nonworking channel.
This won't isolate the problem, but it's a start for now. Post your findings.

Ron

First, check the output fuses on the back of the unit. If those are good, take the cover off and check the rail fuses inside the unit. There are two 5A fuses for each channel in housings with a clear plastic cover. If either of those are bad, replace them.

I own one (great units with a wonderful phono stage) that had a fuse blowing issue -- on mine, one channel would blow one of these rail fuses and go out. Turns out it was an overheating/failing transistor on one of the driver boards. If I opened the case and put a fan next to it, the fuse wouldn't blow. Once the transistor was replaced, it worked fine. (Wish I could tell you that I had done the circuit tracing and transistor replacement, but I'm not as electronically inclined as I'd like to be).