JoseHH

Hello everyone.

Last August I got this AU-D707X Decade amplifier here in Bangkok. The amplifier turned on, came out of protection, and it sounded good when we tested it at the shop. We used a pair of Yamahas NS1000 and a Marantz CD-63 CD player. I observed that all the functions work with the exception of the subsonic filter which did not engage when I pressed it. The amplifier has a little damage at the lower left corner of the particle board side panel. But the front and back panels are in good condition, and a quick look inside suggested that all the boards except for the regulated power supply (F-4292) did not get any noticeable work done on them. So I took it home and I had no time to do anything until nowFrontPanel_AK_Small.jpg.

There are no threads discussing renovation and adjustment of the AU-D707X amplifiers, which are the Japan market equivalent of the AU-D11-II. Thus, I studied every thread I found in this site about the most similar units (AU-D11-II and AU-G90X). Big thanks to @Hyperion, @phonomac, @LWB and @leesonic for all their extremely valuable threads. A very useful site was the amp8.com, a company that repairs amplifiers in Japan which shows pictures of the units they repair. I wish to renovate this amplifier, so I start this thread to get advice from users with experience in this kind of amplifiers.

The first thing I did was to carefully inspect the unit internal parts, and had a close look at the F-4292 power supply. The board had damaged electrolytic capacitors, and a broken tab on the upper left corner. There were bulging electrolytic capacitors, a ceramic resistor, five delaminated/damaged solder pads on the solder side. So I decided not to power on the amplifier until I fix this board. Clearly somebody worked on this amlifier before. Unfortunately that person was not carefull or did not care about the unit very much... Here is a picture of the initial state of the power supply board:

F4292_DiodesInitial_AK.jpg