sansui r 70 problem

shageedawg

well i have an old sansui r 70 integrated reciever/amp and i get no volume from it.the dial face lights up but i don't get any volume when i hook up speakers.the only fuse i have found is a 5 amp fuse and the filament is intact.all the caps look fine and haven't popped.so what do you guys think?is there another fuse i am missing?i just did a little job on my sears audio amp and i know there were three fuses inside that one,so i thought maybe i had missed a fuse in the sansui.any thoughts?thanks in advance
fromphone737.jpg

fromphone763.jpg

Last edited:
thanks for the response,but i am a bit of a layman and no tech ,so i just do whatever simple repairs i can.explain please?

Sansui R-70

Pardon my ignorance but your model is newer than I thought and will probably have a switch to connect the pre and main amps. It could be on the side. Move it back and forth a few times and see if you get power. If you do, spray it with the Deoxit and push the switch back and forth about 20 times to loosen the corrosion. If it still acts up periodically, you have to open the case and spray the Deoxit on the inside of the switch. Hope this helps.

does it need jumpers from pre main ?

Since your model is newer, it probably has a switch, possibly on the side, that connects and disconnects the pre and main amps. Make sure the switch is in the connected position. If it is, try my advice on loosening any corrosion in the switch.

so theres no switch,but here's a few nudies of the transformer and a teeny bit of corrosion perhaps on the underside of the main circuit board.plus a look at the caps
fromphone774.jpg

fromphone775.jpg

fromphone777.jpg

fromphone776.jpg

well wouldn't ya know it?seems it works after all!but i only get the right channel,and not the left.i managed to pick up a radio signal,so i will try something else in the morning.