Sansui TA-500

mnilan

Just bought a Sansui TA-500. I haven't been able to find out much about this but it is a 50 wpc @ 8 ohms receiver that looks like the Sansui AU/TU 417 separates but all in one piece. I'll have more to say about it and will post some pictures when it is delivered.

I'm going to use this in a desktop application (near field) to replace some AudioEngine 5s (active monitors) and I have a REL T-3 subwoofer to use for the bottom end. I still haven't found speakers for this set-up - I am concerned with sound quality (duh) but also real estate - I don't have much room on my desk. I'd like to get at least the same quality as I'm getting from the AudioEngine speakers (I do really like them).

At this point, I have two questions:

--Do you know a technician in the Central New York area who I could take the TA-500 to for a check-up? I'm not technical and I would hate to screw up the "tuner/amplifier" for lack of attention.

--Any suggestions for small, near-field speakers that could be driven reasonably by 50 wpc TA-500? After the Stereophile review of the Pioneer
Pioneer SP-BS41-LR, I was thinking of those but they are 6 ohm and might be too much for the TA-500...

Thanks,
Mike

From a SANSUI flyer/1980.

TA-500 DC Integrated Tuner-Amplifier
Technology for this highly sophisticated tuner-amp descends from our distinguished live of AU/TU series of integrated amplifiers and tuners.
The amplifier section uses the equalizer-out direct-to-DC-power amp-in design so as to obtain purer musical tonality.
The advanced DC-design wich a Dual-FET Input plus Low-noise IC ensures superb transient response characteristics along
wich colourfree musicality and really dimensioned stereo-Images. Always plentiful of energy reserve wich the separate dual-voltage circuits.
Twin power protection safeguards both amp and speakers.
Unique phono-equalizer for more realistic dynamic range and lower noise from records. All true hi-fi. Nothing but strict hi-fi performances