"Sealed" vinyl on ebay?

kcollins4

Rocking somewhere
Subscriber
I'm new to buying vinyl on ebay. There seem to be an awful lot of "sealed" albums. If the seller has good feedback, can I (generally) assume sealed means the same thing as NIB? or is this usually a red flag? I've bought and sold receivers and speakers on the bay, but maybe someone can jump in here and tell me some of the pitfalls for vinyl. I'm not vinyl-smart, I just like the way a good condition album sounds. I'd appreciate any pointers. Thanks guys.:music:

I generally assume that if they are indeed sealed, then they have never been opened since new. The reasoning behind this is that I've never come across a sealed LP that was not new thus far. Perhaps there are idiots who'd reseal LPs, but I've never heard of it - which is a good thing, of course.

Cheers

I would think that "sealed" would mean new and unused or NIB or NI Package. I personally have been buying vinyl on eBay and have found some excellent deals. I try to buy "lots" and as many as I can from the same seller. The only thing I've ran into is when the vinyl doesn't bring what the seller had hoped it would they are trying to compensate by increasing the shipping charges or not combining shipping cost on mulitple purchases. I've asked sellers to use the media mail option to save on shipping and some sellers have been accommodating while others have not. There's one thing for sure, vinyl is heavy when you get a lot of it together for shipping so ask questions first. Now is a good time to be in vinyl IMO, I know I have acquired more than I'll have time to listen to anytime soon...

It was very common back in the day for record stores to buy used records and re seal them. I have never really had much luck buying records on ebay. Its not uncommon to get sealed LP's that are severely warped or have scratches right from the factory. Getting a seller to take back a sealed record is near impossible unless you get the rare seller.