seperating ht from music

jt1135

Looking for a preamp or something to run a turntable and blu ray player w/wifi thru. Has to have a remote so after a couple of cold ones and maybe a liberal lucky I don't have to get up and adjust the volume:)). Using svs prime towers and looking at an 80's class A amp for power. Splitting the HT from the music. Any thoughts?

Jolida JD5T pre-amp. Has a remote for power(stand-by), volume, and mute, you have to change the inputs manually. No tone controls, but with a class A amp, you probably don't need them. It also has a pair of 12ax7 tubes, so if you want to you can swap other tubes for a different sound. I've been using mine for about 6 years with stock tubes, it's given me no trouble, and sounds great. Not really cheap, but not too expensive, and highly under-rated in my opinion.

Forgot to add: The JD5T doesn't have a phono stage, you'll need an outboard phono-pre if you go this route, but I see you already have a pretty good one....

Last edited:
That's actually a pretty good idea. EXCEPT, you're trying to SAVE him money, where it looks to me like he wants SPEND some money! ;) Plus, he already has a pretty good phono-pre. There are a number of ways he could save money, but it sounds like he's looking to set up a music system that is completely independent of his HT set-up, which means he's willing to spend a little to get what he wants. I was just trying to give an option that is in line price-wise with the rest of his gear.

jt1135: You didn't mention a budget, or if you were looking for a new or used pre-amp. You have a LOT of potential choices, help us out here so we can help you spend your money wisely!