1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

setup a media center

Discussion in 'Digital Sources' started by carpe-diem, Sep 26, 2018.

1. carpe-diem

carpe-diem tubes and tubes Subscriber

I am new to this. I have over 500gig of FLAC files. I'd like to setup a media center to stream to my vintage system. If possible, I'd like to stream to bluetooth speakers or stream to other devices in other rooms. My questions are; storage? media software? setup? and anything? Should I go with a mini pc or raspberry pi? What's about NAS storage? I think I'd like a centralized location and stream to others devices in other rooms. Any suggestions on where to start? Thanks.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. Yamaki

Yamaki Not For Hire Subscriber

This is gonna be a bit long so I'll apologize up front. :D Hopefully you can hang in there and learn from my mistakes. I'm not sure how much of this is not new to you but I will be starting with some history, some digital file basics and end with some recommendations.

I remember when I read about this new-fangled digital music stuff not realizing that my CDP was playing digital files from those little shiny discs. Once I realized that I could use those individual files, make up a playlist that would play song after song after song and do so without spending hours punching little buttons on the face of a component and listening to that CD jukebox whiz and whir searching for the next song, I knew I had to make it happen.