Shorted 6060

Discussion in 'Exclusively Sansui' started by rotco, Jun 14, 2018.

1. rotco

rotco Member

Hi everyone
    please, i need your help with this one.
    i will say first that i'm an amateur, but have basic knowledge and experience which i got mostly from you guys.

i just done cleaning and maintaining Sansui 6060 which was work absolutely fine.
    as last step, i just wanted do to the Bias adjustment as described in the S.M
    Mistakenly, while touching the resistors leads with the DMM probes, i also touched the chassis and then the two fuses got burned. (F603, F602) (250V, 5A)
    1. While the fuses are off from the board, i turned on the receiver, it powered on, but the protection relay didn't "click".

I hope tomorrow i will find new fuses in the store,
    but i really think that something went bad and the new fuses will auto-burned while i will turn the receiver ON.

I have a Dim Bulb Tester, i will use it. if i will find the receiver is shorted, which test can i make in order to find which components got died?

thanks

B.T.W is there any chance that nothing got damaged and if i'll put new fuses the receiver will play again?

Please register to disable this ad.

2. Tom B

Tom B AK Subscriber Subscriber

While I would hope that all will be fine after replacing the fuses, in reality those 2 fuses are the ones supplying primary DC to the output transistors and driver board. They usually pop when output transistors short.

3. rotco

rotco Member

Unfurtunatly, i couldn't hold my self andwait to get new fuses, i was so curious if something went wrong or maybe everything just fine exept the fuses themselfs.

So, i wrapped the fuses with aluminium foil, and powered ON the receiver thru a Dim Bulb Tester with 60W lamp in series. (My wall power system is 220v)

It turned ON, but after about 10 seconds or less i notice a SMOKE! (I know i did stupid thing) and i turned it OFF immedietly.