Small square sized room and dipoles.....

Bigboi33

Dazed and Confused
A few thoughts running through my head at the moment and curious if our resident experts can help out. I'm playing with room treatments with a friend who has a similar layout as me. Like some of us here, a small room is the best we have at the moment. The worst part is that it is square shaped.

I could be wrong but from what I have researched and read, I understand that square rooms are not the best acoustically and do not have the best acoustic properties . Please understand that I am not an acoustic expert and that I am open to any suggestions/opinions and willing to experiment.

It's not fun, getting stuck with the smaller room. My old house had a basement where I could have all the fun I wanted and I miss it so much :(.

Details about the rooms:
10x11 w/8ft ceiling
Short side are bare walls, one long side has a 5 foot wide window the otherside a 5 foot closet
The listening couch is directly against the rear wall for both of us.
And the answer is Yes, we both own cookie cutter homes in the same neighborhood (please don't judge:rolleyes: )

Speakers:
Mine: Acoustat Spectra 1100
His: Martin Logan's Sequal
Neither of us want to change speakers or downsize. I have three years before my boys are out of the house (I'm praying at least) and I get the big room. My buddy has a few more years longer to wait than I, but pretty much same scenario.

For LF, we are currently putting together some corner bass traps for the front wall and for one corner of the rear wall. Our issue right now is HF & MF....

What is the best way to control a square room? For HF & MF, more focus on absorption or more on diffusion?