Solderless PCB connection conversion

JKBay

Hello everyone. I am new to AudioKarma and though I have some experience I am full of questions and I may, from time to time have some answers to share with like minded people.

I thought I would start with a couple questions and hopefully some really great ideas will come my way. Like many of you, I like to work and re-work 60's and 70's audio gear. I have some ideas to solve the desolder resolder problem (Ie: the constant destruction of original wire) on PCB's. I thought male to female individual pins would make the process of component removal quick and easy yet still maintain a strong seamless signal path. However I would love some input on this idea.

Also, what is the official name of this type of wire (see photos) Specifically for Marantz, so I can order some that need replacing in a couple 70's marantz's I am refurbishing. It is of the rca or coaxial family but I need something more specific. It is 14 gauge mainly used for audio connections .

Attachments

• IMG_1286.JPG
    IMG_1286.JPG
    79.5 KB · Views: 53
  • IMG_1320.JPG
    IMG_1320.JPG
    54.1 KB · Views: 55
Hello JKBay, Welcome to AK. In the second shot the wire looks like 1105 24AWG hook up wire. The first shot looks like more of the same. The wires have a Type (#) and the gauge of the wire listed. Standard hook up wire. Use 1007,1015, and such at work (Electronic Tech for 35 yrs). To check which wire it is post what is written on the wires and I'll look up the type and let you know.

Thanks for the shout back. I went ahead and ordered some header pins and 18-24awg housings.. I'm going to see if that will help with the whole solder situation. It's just something I want to try as I refurbish more and more of these to try to improve the design and make them easier to access.

Now these wires:

I got the gauge mixed up on the opening so here is what the wires say:

TOMOE DENSEN UL AWM E49982 Style 1107 Fri-1 60c 26AWg