Sonance'84's stereo evolution (lots of photos)

Sonance'84

moe.ron
Subscriber
Well, since I'm fairly new to the whole audio hobby (addiction), I though I'd show the evolution of my 2-channel stereo system with a touch of home theater. There will be a few different parts to this thread, spanning my first vinyl setup from August 2008 through my current main setup. I'll show listening rooms as well. First, here's a little back story...

I have always been a music lover...ever since I can remember "borrowing" my brothers Pink Floyd and Doors CD's back in 5th grade. But, what started this whole hobby was me wanting to get into listening to records (something my generation missed by a wee bit...cassettes were our thing). So, by getting into records, I found that vintage stereo equipment was the way to go for good entry level sound quality on a budget. The hobby started to grow into a love for all things stereo related and around the same time, I had a talk with my stepdad where he mentions to look into McIntosh gear. Before that, I had no idea about high-end stereo gear...but I soon realized there is a whole industry based around hi-fi stereo components and quality sound...and so the quest begun. :music: :smoke: :beerchug:

Now, stuck in the world of hi-fi, I find that this quest for audio nirvana will never end...unless I hit the jackpot and get to build a dream system (but that might take the fun out of it! :D). Knowing this, I gladly accept what is offered to me by the Audio Gods at any given time and if it sounds better than what I'm using at the time, it stays, and then I sell the defeated party. That being said, I do have a separate tube system and solid-state system now which never contend with each other, but offer a yin and yang sort of balance. They get rotated in and out as I see fit.