Soundstream DAC-1 doesnt sound oundstrea

vtth

Hi folks, recently I acquired a DAC-1. I couldn't figure out to send the signal from a 3.5mm to Coax input. But the problem is when I connected an optical output from my TV to DAC-1, and 2 rca output from DAC-1 to my amplifier (tried it on monoprice hybride and marantz 1060), both produced high white noise with some crackling and no music, and I set the volume to very low. Do you think my source is incorrect or there is something wrong with this DAC unit? I tested both of amplifiers, both are working fine. Thanks.

if the TV is putting out a digital multichannel signal a 2 channel DAC generally won't be able to work with it.

Try again with a known stereo signal?

Ah, got it. I changed the setting on my TV and set it to PCM through optical output. Now it works!. Thanks a lot Olderroust. It is my first time using a stand out DAC unit. Will test it out to see if the sound quality improve with a DAC before the amplifier and preamp. By the way, is there any way to send audio signal from 3.5 mm port to a single Coax?

IME the 3.5mm headphone jack from a TV is a two channel analog signal. Coax requires a digital signal.

Some PC's have a dual 3.5mm jack that accepts a 3.5mm audio plug or a mini Toslink connector.

Can I assume that the 3.5 mm port on my phone cannot output audio into the Coax port on the DAC-1? I tried s 3.5 mm to 2 RCA, then a 2 RCA into 1 Coax converter, but still no sound.

Can I assume that the 3.5 mm port on my phone cannot output audio into the Coax port on the DAC-1? I tried s 3.5 mm to 2 RCA, then a 2 RCA into 1 Coax converter, but still no sound.

Good assumption. The 3.5mm port on your phone outputs an analog signal for headphones. Some phones will output a digital signal through the USB port. check your phones manual.

Can I assume that the 3.5 mm port on my phone cannot output audio into the Coax port on the DAC-1?