Speakers and Receiver for $600?

Anaxes

College student who finally got his own apartment! Don't have the most to spend but don't mind used! Looking for something with phono output for a future turntable! Its a small apartment (1 bed room in the city) any recommendations would be great!

I've been enjoying a pair of powered JBL lsr308's that could fill the amp / speaker needs. Add a used preamp with phono and you could probably come in under your stated budget. You asked about a receiver so maybe a tuner is needed as well.

My favorite newer little inexpensive speakers are Boston Acoustic CR65. I needed some small ones for a living room system and looked here on AK for suggestions and ended up getting some used on CL. Liked them so much got another pair for the bedroom system. And yet another pair just to have in case I want to gift a system to a friend or relative. Ebay completed sales are in the $70 range but CL had them for about half that. Either way I think they sound great for the money. Unlike vintage speakers (which there are still some good buys out there) you won't have to worry about fixing them anytime soon.
Now vintage receivers are another ballgame altogether. They are ridiculously priced these days. I looked at your local CL for my favorite bargain vintage models, and broken ones are priced higher than perfect ones sell for at auction. It's also a crap shoot on how long they will last.
My favorite under-the-radar model is here http://www.ebay.com/itm/VINTAGE-ONK...083366?hash=item1a31870aa6:g:mkkAAOSwlyJZbmyC
this ones looks fairly nice and is about $100 shipped. I have one and it has a fantastic phono section. Do some research and you will like what you see. It's bigger brother, the 4500 MKII is also within reach.

College student who finally got his own apartment! Don't have the most to spend but don't mind used! Looking for something with phono output for a future turntable!