Spec 4 mistake

Discussion in 'Pioneer Audio' started by bendoggie, Jan 1, 2018.

1. bendoggie

bendoggie AK Subscriber Subscriber

Just did a terrible thing. My Spec 4 had not been adjusted for a long time and it seemed to me that the right channel was slightly lower than the left. I adjusted the left Ok and when I did the right channel i touched the adjacent pin and it sparked. I checked the outputs and sure enough one of the 2sb554 transistors was blown. I replaced all the outputs with on semis from digikey as recommended here by the folks that know a great deal more than me. Once I turned it on the 50mv i was trying to adjust just ran away. Now I am an electrician by trade and I know enough electronics to make me dangerous. It seems to me that the device regulating this current is also blown. Visual inspection shows no burnt components. My next step is to replace all the transistors on that power board. Any suggestions will be greatly apreciated.

2. markthefixer

markthefixer On Hiatus, dealing with Dad's estate full time

When replacing transistors also check the resistors, EACH with one leg lifted (VERY important!!). You may have popped some - and be SURE to check the high power ones (0.5? ohms) connected to the output transistors.

A LOT of new arrivals have missed out on my YEARS of hammering in one DIRECTIVE - INSULATE ALL BUT THE TINIEST PORTION OF THE TIP OF YOUR TEST PROBES.
    Also ANY screwdriver you wave at or near a board should ALSO BE INSULATED.

AND
    WHEN TAKING MEASUREMENTS use clip leads that are affixed WITH THE POWER OFF!!!!!!!!!!

Everyone's in a HURRY, or too CHEAP to get a pack of clip leads, and they INVENTIVELY end up spending MORE time and money.

Electronics is NOT for the impatient, PATIENCE is a necessity.

Juice is UNFORGIVING.

edit - post your PROSPECTIVE parts list, so we can spot problems before the trigger on the order is pulled.

Last edited: Jan 1, 2018
  3. bendoggie