Step Up from Ortofon 2M Black?

Kierkegaard

Hey guys ... A lot of you were incredibly helpful with suggestions on cleaning my Ortofon 2M Black stylus.

I got some Last stylus cleaner and it seems to have improved the sound quite a bit — not nearly as distorted now, especially around vocals and mids.

I'm starting to realize, though, that this stylus is going to have to be replaced someday, and probably sooner than I'd like.

So ... what's your advice on the next step up? On Stereophile's Recommended Components list it seems like the Lyra Delos is the next step up, but at $1650 it's more than twice the cost of the Ortofon.

What do you guys think a great cartridge would be for around $1000? Grado? Sumiko? Dynavector? There are so many choices at that price point and I have no experience with any of them. Would love to know what you guys think.

My system, by the way, includes a Technics 1200 with just about all the KAB mods, a Musical Fidelity M1VYNL phono amp, a Doge 6 preamp with Genalex Gold Lion tubes, and a Nakamichi PA-7 amp. Speakers are a pair of Zu Audio Essences.

Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions.

— K.

I got some Last stylus cleaner and it seems to have improved the sound quite a bit — not nearly as distorted now, especially around vocals and mids.[...] Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions.

Did you ever clean the stylus before the Last?

My vote is for the at150mlx cartridge.

Other than blowing on it? ;) No ... This is the first time I've cleaned the stylus. I'll look into the at150mlx ... Thanks.

To do better than the 2M Black (which I have and like) you have to go moving coil, IMHO. Then there are a lot of options. There just are not that many really great moving magnet cartridges anymore.

HOMC is an option, though. I also have a Dynavector 20xH which is for sure better than the Black.

Last edited: