Stereo power amp or monoblocks?

jt1stcav

Up and Coming Bottlehead
I have an 8 WPC 300B single-ended stereo power amp from BEZ. This same manufacturer also builds a newer 300B monoblock version that's 10 WPC. I'm happy with the sound of my 2-channel amp, but I am considering maybe purchasing BEZ's monoblocks to replace my current amp.

I'm wondering if there's any real advantage to doing so? What is the main reason for any manufacturer to build monoblock power amps and also offer basically the same amp spec-wise in a 2-channel stereo configuration? Do monoblocks generally sound superior to stereo amps, or is it all hype?

Your opinions would be greatly appreciated! :yes:

jt1stcav,

I'm gonna go out on a limb here-but bear in mind I'm just getting started in tube DIY and I'm still climbing the learning curve.

I'd think the most obvious difference would be in the power supply-with a separate pwr xfrmr and power rectifiers for each channel, you might gain better voltage regulation and less sagging on low-frequency and extreme transients. I think it's generally believed this leads to better channel separation and therefore more precise "imaging." The extra space may also help with magnetic coupling of chokes and output transformers-something that can become an issue in the confines of a stereo amp.

I would think with a properly designed and grounded circuit, the extra space afforded for the gain/phase inverter sections and output tubes would not make much of a difference.

I have to admit there's the extra "cool" factor that comes with mono-blocks-I know I like the look of them!

OTOH, I think that a stereo amp with a shared power supply could do just as well as a pair of monos-provided that power supply is up to the task. Problem then becomes fitting a power supply that big on a single chassis-I'm running into that issue myself on my DIY amp.