1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

Student learning to troubleshoot has a couple of questions

Discussion in 'Pioneer Audio' started by WoodyJ, Jan 27, 2018.

1. WoodyJ

WoodyJ New Member

Hello all, I am a Computer Science major at the University of Houston, and I am also taking an Electronic Technician certificate course as well. I am really new at this, so please bear with me. I am learning to troubleshoot analog electronics using a DVM. I am using a Cen-tech P98674 5in1 DVM. The reason why I have ended up on this forum is that my dad has stated that in return for him shelling out the bread for college, I will be required to repair his Pioneer SA-6800ii integrated amplifier, which sounds "muddy" and one channel is louder than the other, so by the time I finish the cert course, I better be able to fix it or I'll have a sad dad. To prepare for this great challenge, I have picked up a crappy Pioneer SA-710-2 integrated amplifier for the grand sum of 10$ to work on, so if I screw up at first, it will not be on Dad's beloved. This is one of the "Flouroscan" series, it powers up, the display lights up, but does not output music on either channel. I have been using it to practice using the DVM with the hook probes, and I think I may have found whats wrong with it in the process when I tested each transistor with the DVM for resistance. Two of them, both blue transistors marked NEC A985, show zero on the meter. I am assuming they are what's wrong, I have a couple of questions. First, there is a blue jumper wire next to each transistor that have been cut. Does anyone know why and whether I need to repair them? Also, what would cause both these transistors to fail and what else should I check? I have found what looks like the repair parts on ebay: