SX-727 Aux only, no phono or tuner working

Discussion in 'Pioneer Audio' started by Greg111111, Feb 11, 2018.

1. Greg111111

Greg111111 New Member

Hi All,

I have a problem with my SX-727. Currently, no sound from the phono or am/fm tuner. Aux works fine, as well as the tape monitor.

For a little backstory, I've been hacking away at this thing for a few years now. (thanks to the helpful info in this forum). I've replaced the majority of the Caps, as well as replaced bulbs, cleaned with De-Oxit and replaced some transistors. Everything has always worked, somewhere along the way, however, I lost my Phono and Tuner output. (I primarily listen to the Aux). The tuning and signal meters seem to be working, just no sound.

The last change I made was replacing the whole head amp board. (long story short, I fried some of the tracings trying to get at the transistors.). I attached my new board via wire splicing the 10 connectors (probably not the most professional method), but I did check for continuity and all seemed good.

Any ideas for some simple things I can check to help get the phono back?

Please register to disable this ad.

2. audiomaniac2

audiomaniac2 Member

check for correct voltages on phono and am/fm boards.

3. markthefixer

markthefixer On Hiatus, dealing with Dad's estate full time Subscriber

The aux goes in AFTER the head amp W21-002 board. Loss of that board will kill AM, FM, FM AUTO, PHONO1, PHONO 2 and MIC. It switches equalization for the various sources - that is as important as the power for correct operation.

Quick and dirty tests: wet the tip of your finger, and touch it first to the out1 and then out2 connections - in any position but aux - should hear a buzz in that channel and then the other channel.
    Then touch the in1 and in2, should get louder buzzes, depending upon if it's set for AM, FM, louder: mic, really loud Phono1 or 2.
    Check for +25 or 30v at the +B connection.