1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

SX-780 Q20 concern with no sound or relay click

Discussion in 'Pioneer Audio' started by dfarrington, Dec 8, 2018 at 1:59 PM.

1. dfarrington

dfarrington New Member

Hello, I am new to working on the SX-780 and just getting back into electronics after 30 years. My SX-780 at first had a bad STK so I replaced both. Everything was fine and I hooked it up, turned it up nearly half way with 4 speakers and the protection circuit kicked out. I opened it back up and found the right channel STK shorted. I removed the right channel STK and protection okay and left channel worked. Before I stuck another STK in, I pulled the .22ohm resisters on the right channel and replaced with new. When I went to test to see if I still had the left channel, the relay did not click. I am now lost. I have pulled both STK's and here are the voltage reading across q25, 19 and 20 (3 transistors with heat sinks)

Q25

Q19

Q20
    1v
    0v
    -54.3v

Left Darlington pins with no STK in place
    1 1v
    2 -41.5v
    3 0v
    4 0v
    5 0v
    6 0v
    7 41.5v
    8 0v
    9 41.5v
    0 39.5v

Right Darlington pins with no STK in place
    1 1v
    2 -41.7v
    3 0v
    4 0v
    5 0v
    6 0v
    7 40.8v
    8 0v
    9 40.8v
    0 39.6v

Please register to disable this ad.

2. Watthour

Watthour Electron Rancher - JS3600

Q20 is unhappy for some reason.

3. dfarrington

dfarrington New Member

I replaced it and got the same readings. I did find what I believe is R260 (numbers on schematic are not clear) blown so I replaced both 200 ohm resistors. Do you think it could be Q24 causing bad readings on Q20?

4. sregor

sregor AK Subscriber Subscriber