Table to Cart to Phono Stage Ratios....

RuSsMaN

Pudknocker
I've been listening to vinyl off and on for 30 yrs or so, more 'seriously' in the past 5 or 6 years. Never owned anything GREAT, but I have a few good tables. Thorens 160, B&O 4000, and a Quadraflex 610T. I have probably 300 12" albums, and maybe 50-60 45's.

There is the history, here is the question.

Let's say I go buy a new, entry table, ie Rega, Sumiko, Music Hall etc. I spend $300-$500 on said table.

1. Should I buy an 'upgrade' cartridge, and if so, what price point? Would a $100 cart be an upgrade over the stock (in general)?

2. What should I spend on a phono stage? A third the cost of the table? Half? Equal to? More?

Just wondering if there are any general rules fellow entusiasts usually abide by, and far as pricing goes - and for entry level (new) tables - what is the point of dimenishing returns on carts and phono stages (ie, at what point I should just upgrade the table, vs spending more on a cart/phono stage)?

Cheers,
Russ

Last edited:
I take it your pre has no phono on it. If not is it a tube pre and amp and would you like to continue with a tube phono stage ?

I don't have any preamps, just line stages. ;)

I don't care about tube or not, as far as the phono stage goes. I guess what I'm asking is how does the price ratio match up from table to phono stage, for optimum performance, buying new.

I have 2 rigs in question right now. Both have a gruntball $120 Parasound MM/MC stage. Just fyi:

Rig 1:

Polk SDA SRS 2
Carver TFM-45
Melos SHA-1 (tube line stage)
AMC CD8b
B&O 4000

Rig 2:
Spendor 1/2
Beard Amp (100wpc tube)
Dodd Audio Line Stage (tube)
Marantz CD63-se
Thorens 160

Cheers,
Russ

This is an interesting thread. I'm hoping to buy a new TT this year and I was wondering the same thing.