Teac X-2000, 1000 Cabinet Refinish

schwarcw

There are more than a few of us who are fortunate to have a nice looking and fully operable Teac X-2000 or X-1000. Many of these units came with poor quality wood cases that are an embarrassment to Teac's quality. The cabinets are made from inexpensive, soft wood or questionable construction and covered with a Rosewood vinyl tape veneer.

I picked up a case for a nominal price that was in poor condition. I embarked on a project to make a nice case out of this challenged piece of pressed board wood products. I am a novice with limited experience in wood refinishing.

First I hire a local craftsman to veneer the cabinet with a cherry veneer. He did a great job, including several deep bruises by filling with wood filler or body putty. The corners were razor sharp and the seams almost invisible despite the blemishes.

I completed some finish work by lightly sanding with 150, 220 then 400 grit paper. It was as smooth as a baby's bum. I used Behlen's wood dye (Cherry) based on a recommendation from a professional and a friend. This product is a non grain raising stain and will maintain the 3 - D look of the wood grain. I used a saturated cotton rag, one quick coat was plenty. This product is a truly non-grain raising stain. The depth of the wood grain was almost holographic to look at, very deep and intriguing. No detail was lost. Next, four, maybe five coats of Minwax hand wiping Polyurethane. It was the first time I used this stuff. Very nice. I only "spot" sanded where I had a few trouble spots (drips, runs, etc.) I smoothed them out and I was good to go with a small repair with stain and urethane.

The results speak for themselves. I am more than satisfied. I have a number of pictures that show the progression from wood, through stain, then urethane finish, for the same sections of the cabinet. Check it out.

Your comments and recommendations are welcome.

MacandTeac024.jpg

MacandTeac023.jpg

TeacCabinet004.jpg