Teac X7: Should I or Shouldn't I?

Discussion in 'Tape' started by ToasterBin, Aug 6, 2009.

1. ToasterBin

ToasterBin Toasterbin Subscriber

Hi,

This is my first post to this site as I am getting more involved. I am fairly new to the wonderful world of R2R but do already have several decks. I have an opportunity to pick up a Teac X7 for relatively cheap ($50)--I intend to use it just to play and test tapes. I have seen mention of problems with the capstan motors--the owner says it low miles (driven by a little old lady and only on Sundays...) on it.

Thoughts?

2. audiojones

audiojones Jonesin' for audio Subscriber

Hi -

I'm sure you will hear otherwise but I wouldn't recommend it. The undersized capstan motor is prone to failure and, while it is still available and easy to replace, it is rather expensive. I have also seen control board and power supply failures on these machines that occur in conjunction with the motor failures at times. IMHO I find it's best to stick with the A series of Teac machines - they sound great, are well built and will remain trouble free for years with a minimum amount of maintenance.

*ADD-ON* After re-reading your post I noticed that it's only $50. For that amount I would get it if it's working properly. When they work they are very nice, and you may get lucky and get a few years out of it. I wouldn't recommend putting much into it if it doesn't work, however.

Last edited: Aug 6, 2009
  3. ToasterBin

Thanks

Yes, for the $50 bucks, it is harder to pass up. I've got other, better decks which I will put money into in the long run. Maybe I'll use this deck as my learning deck...

4. vinyldavid

vinyldavid Proud Jaguar Owner! Subscriber

The X7 should be a great deck...the X-3 is my 7" daily driver.

5. ToasterBin

Thanks, again

David,

Thank you. I appreciate your response. Do you know the difference between the X3 and the X7?

6. KentTeffeteller

KentTeffeteller Gimpus Stereophilus!