Techie question..heads up Echo or SolderIron

ProAc_Fan

Addicted Member
How would I go about finding out which OT(s) in my Yammie CR-840 receiver have shorted out? PLease spoon feed me as I'm new at this attempt at servicing gear. THe receiver was working perfect when I got it, then in a few months I was hearing some clicking noise through the speakers when the protection relay kicked in. Finally one day on startup the fuse blew and now the fuse blows immediately when trying to fire it up. Any thoughts or opinions would be appreciated.

TIA Mike

If the OT are in a socket type plug and you can remove them, go ahead and take them out one at a time. If you can get that far let me know and i can tell you what to do next, do you have an ohm meter or DMM?

i mean just see if they are, if so you can take them out but remeber which went where, or we can do one at a time.

Yeah I have a multimeter but I haven't even located the OT's yet. Mind you I haven't removed the bottom cover yet but I will tomorrow. It's getting late here in the northeast. We'll work on this tomorrow.

Mike

Weird. I can't find anything resembling the OT's from my PL 400amp. Underneath each heat sink there's a large 4"X4" chip with Yamaha power amplifier written in them and part number IG 02970. They appear to be held in place by 2 screws. Would those be the OT's? Should I remove them for testing? Can I kill myself in any way taking these out? LOL

Mike

because the reciever was made in early 80's im assuming it had the roundish type OT's i forget what these are called. but i just had to test the ones on the Phase Linear amp i got so i know how to do it at least. and ive had some experience with repairs. This PL would be my second.
transistor.gif
I imagine they will look like the big one at the top of pic. hopefully you can see if they are in a socket or soldered leads.