Technics SL-2000

tmccullough

You are who, who you are
Is $120 a good deal for a working, excellent condition SL-2000? I'm just getting started, so this would be the first one. I've read a lot about the SL-1200 series being really good.

Oh, and Happy New Year!

Stunningly good deal for the condition you describe. Jump on it, but don't forget to check it out before opening your wallet, if possible. Try to bring an amp and speaker (along with a record) if the seller can't hook it up to anything. In other words, take your time, but HURRY!

Depends... Does seller have original box, Cart shell, and 45 adapter? What condition is the dust cover?

Can you hook it up at the sellers place to make sure it plays? First make sure that it can hold speed correctly in both 33 & 45. Then make sure the tonearm isn't bent and the cue lift works. Check the pitch control to make sure it works. Last make sure the RCA's are in good shape. If so, go for it.

Why buy something you immediately have to repair?

Err, I could have sworn I saw SL1200... Ah good ole New Years strikes again :)

Is $120 a good deal for a working, excellent condition SL-2000? I'm just getting started, so this would be the first one. I've read a lot about the SL-1200 series being really good.

Oh, and Happy New Year!

Make sure it isn't an ex-DJ one that has been abused. GENTLY hold the tonearm (with cart and weight attached and move it back and forth (in and out, right and left) to feel for any looseness or "wiggle". If there is some, it may indicate "shot" bearings. Some people just tighten things up to offset this, but that isn't really a repair.

There are a lot of upgrades you can make to this model (check out "Kabusa" online), and for that price, you could afford to make some upgrades and still have good value. Even as-is, it's a very decent TT, and you'd be hard pressed to find one as good for that price.

Go check it out, now!

ok

So, would it be fair to say: