Technics Tuners.......

MONK67

I'm the new guy here now and have lots of questions.
I pretty much know the format as I belong to a couple of muscle car boards that uses the same format as this one.
My sign on name,MONK67,is a comibnation of my nick name I carried for much of my childhood all the way through high school (and still am greeted by it by old friends) and the year I graduated high school.
Now my first question........I've been collecting (acquiring) Technics pieces this summer. My plan is to listen and record many of my old vinyl records from the 60's.
I have a SA-202, SA-5270 and SA-7300X Technics am/fm receivers.
The 7300X is the biggest puzzle for me as to it's performance etc.
Any feed back on this unit appreciated.
Eventually I'd like to score a SA-1000 but thats for a later time.

Hey Shadow.......Thanks for the response.
If I read the info correctly, this is only a 40 watt tuner? :sigh:

MONK67 said:
this is only a 40 watt tuner? :sigh:

I wouldn't be too disappointed in this 20 wpc receiver. There are many fine examples of vintage receivers (this model is not a tuner, although it has one) which can sound tremendous with the right speakers.

Happy listening and welcome!

Urizen........thanks for the info.
Set me straight here........ (be gentle, I'm new) difference between a tuner and receiver?
The learning curve will set in soon :D
Also, will a graphic equalizer increase sound (watts)?

MONK67 said:
Urizen........thanks for the info.
Set me straight here........ (be gentle, I'm new) difference between a tuner and receiver?
The learning curve will set in soon :D
Also, will a graphic equalizer increase sound (watts)?

A receiver contains a combination of power amplifier, preamp, AM/FM or FM tuner and in most instances, a phono section, or other input options, such as for tape decks and microphones.

A tuner is a stand alone unit, or what we call a separate.