The OFFICIAL MSM5540RS/M5540 Gx700 40pin IC Thread! NUDIES

trueno92

Hi All,

OK I am creating this thread with the intent to consolidate all the known info on the MSM5540 chip and replacing it.

I am new to this, and in everything i know so far, has been read and mainly collected from AUDIOKARMA, so I hope this can give back to this wonderfully knowledgeable community of hobbyists!

THE CULPRIT

In an age that FM radio has more competition than ever for streaming music/radio shows, I found FM on these vintage Sansui units very refreshing. Maybe it was because it can flawlessly pull in every station under the sun! I don't think I have ever owned an FM tuner of any credible mention and this really surprised me. The number of stations and the clarity was new to me.

But to look at the handsome unit, was just glaring back with a black-eye:
IMG_20150203_130814.jpg

Yup, the digits and quartz lock were non-functional.

Although cosmetic and not affecting the performance of my tuner, I wanted to repair this back to its former glory. Hey, I got into vintage gear for the ability to fix whatever I could!

THE CULPRIT:

My unit has the F3220 display board. You may have the F3000. I noticed that the F3220s are in the units with the non-chamfered heatsinks on the back and from my sample of pics on the net, the F3220 are mainly in production with 1980 serial numbers.

IMG_20150203_123625.jpg

IMG_20150203_123130.jpg

NOTE D05 in the center of the picture. SHOULD THERE BE SOMETHING HERE???

REMOVAL:

Pretty straight forward. Braid and the iron working 2-3 pins at a time. I found this easier than cutting each pin from the IC and working those out. Once the chip is free it simply falls out
(IF THIS IS NOT BEST-PRACTICE FOR IC REMOVAL, PLEASE REPLY TO THIS THREAD AND I WILL CORRECT THIS SECTION)

IMG_20150203_124302.jpg

and old chip out, perfectly usable condition
IMG_20150203_125433.jpg

NEW IC. OLD IC
IMG_20150203_125515.jpg

SOCKET INSTALLED
IMG_20150203_130316.jpg