Thiel 1.5s and a monster receiver..?

Gdriver99

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Hello all. Newbie here. Thanks to anybody who has a second to chime in.
I'm a record listener and just love to listen to vinyl in my small living room- 10'x15' and 8ft ceilings.
I was bestowed the gift of some Thiel cs1.5 speakers.
I'm currently using a Sony str-7800sd receiver. It's a beast of a receiver and offers 125watts per channel into 8 ohms I believe..
Will this old monster get along with the Thiels?
Might they hurt each other?
Would anyone recommend an amp that would help my current system reach its potential?
Any advice would be appreciated!

Welcome to AK!

The only thing I would recommend is check the receiver and make sure it can handle a 4 ohm load. Usually it's printed on the back of the unit near the speaker outputs. It should say something like "Use only 8-16 ohm speakers", "4-8 ohm ONLY", etc.

The Thiels are 4 ohm speakers, with a dip to 3 ohms, which means they are somewhat hard to drive. Most capable amps should be able to drive them, but some older ones have a hard time with low impedance speakers.

Nice gift! You may find them lacking deep bass, which has always been my issue with most Thiels, but others will have the opposite opinion. Like many other Higher End speakers, the more good power you feed them, the better they will sound. Just make sure as stated above that the amp can handle 4ohm loads.

A quick search on your Sony manual shows it will handle between 4 and 16ohm loads

Specifications
Tuning range: FM, MW

Power output: 125 watts per channel into 8Ω (stereo)

Frequency response: 10Hz to 30kHz

Total harmonic distortion: 0.07%

Damping factor: 40

Input sensitivity: 2.5mV (MM), 250mV (line)

Signal to noise ratio: 72dB (MM), 90dB (line)

Output: 250mV (line)

Speaker load impedance: 4Ω to 16Ω

Dimensions: 490 x 170 x 515mm

Weight: 22.8kg