Thoughts on Balanced Cables

Discussion in 'McIntosh Audio' started by rocknroll1, Jun 6, 2018.

1. rocknroll1

rocknroll1 AK Subscriber Subscriber

I purchased a demo c1100 a few months ago and just added a pair of used 601's from AC's. I am new to higher end equipment and wanted your thoughts on balanced cables. Mike at AC said he a new pair for around $175 that in his opinion was as good as the higher priced ones without big name. I don't want to cheap out on cables after what I spent on equipment but don't want pay more than needed to just get a name. Sorry can't remember the brand. All my other equipment is vintage w/o balanced jacks so not much experience with that. I am not questioning the AC guys because have been very good to work and trust them. What are y'all thoughts on this.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. MACKIE1975

MACKIE1975 Well-Known Member

Cable is sometimes likes snake oil. Go to Amazon and buy a pair of Amazonbasics balance cable. The quality is more than good enough.

CruzBay likes this.
  3. Poinzy

Poinzy Super Member

I buy my audio cables from places like Sweetwater and B&H. I get what technicians use in pro audio studio studios without paying designer prices. But it's your money.

CruzBay, techguy0192 and mdewire like this.
  4. jtee1340

jtee1340 AK Subscriber Subscriber

Second on Sweetwater:thumbsup:

5. isotopesope

isotopesope Active Member

i go to http://www.bluejeanscable.com/ for all my interconnects. high quality, affordable, and snake oil free. i have their LC-1 RCA's for my two channel setup and their balanced XLR's in my Marantz HT setup.

6. Yamaki

Yamaki Not For Hire Subscriber

I initially used some generic unbalanced RCA cables from my DAC to the MX135 and from the MX135 to the MC501's. I switched over to balanced XLR's using Audioquest Cinnamon cables at the suggestion of a friend. My first impression was it sounded the same but the more I listened, the more I heard.