Train Question

Nightcleaner

There is a question I would love to ask a Train engineer. (In the USA) Your freight trains are a mile long. How do the engineers know where the end of the train is in regard of the end of the Train clearing a speed restriction? For example do they use the Mile posts?

Thanks in advance for any replies

they do know how long they are and yes the mileposts. used to be so many poles = something, but them days is gone

and only a mile long? since the advent of the really big 2 for 3 loco subs with AC power they are over a mile and with todays distributed mid train r/c power, 2-3 miles is not uncommon in huge areas like out west

(I am not a train engineer except on my own layout, but I do have a few thousand issues of trains, railfan, classic trains etc mags in the store...1940's to appx 2010. $1 each!)

There is probably a dispacer that gives the right to pass for the trains.
Here is an old film (ha, I do like old U.S.A. passanger trains and since there is a lot of info about them on the internet is easyer to find out stuff about them then about trains from the old days my country!):

2 miles long wow imagination runs wild. So theoretically What your saying Quad-driver is it could be passing through two small towns at the Same time.

Must be a nuisance if your at a level crossing. Best to take sandwiches and a flask :)

There is probably a dispacer that gives the right to pass for the trains.
Here is an old film (ha, I do like old U.S.A. passanger trains and since there is a lot of info about them on the internet is easyer to find out stuff about them then about trains from the old days my country!):

Thanks for that: I love Train Cab-Ride Videos. I Download them then play them back on VLC player where i can control the speed of what I am watching. Your country has some amazing Tunnels. I was in one in real time for over 20 minutes. My favorites are the Swiss cab-rides. Such amazing scenery