Transcendent Sound Masterpiece preamp discussion thread

CKDC

Hi all,

I started this thread to discuss the Transcendent Sound Masterpiece preamp.

http://www.transcendentsound.com/Masterpiece.html

I have been on a low level search to find a pre amp that will serve me for years to come. I learned of this recently and am interested.

I was told by Bruce Rozenblit the owner of Transcendent Sound that it would take an experienced builder some 12 hours to assemble it. He also told me that adding a remote(something I think I want) was not possible.

Anyway, please feel to add to the discussion.

Thanks for your input.

Good info! I'm definitely interested in this unit as well...however I'm a very inexperienced builder. The reviews and the $699 price tag (sans tubes) is very appealing...I guess the deciding factor will be if I decide I'm capable to tackle the build myself, or if I can find a builder at a reasonable price.

No remote sucks but not a deal breaker for me, as long as I'm just using this for stereo and don't have it on all the time, like I would for HT use.

Currently considering this, vs. used Rogue, Line Magnetic, or other comparable brand...or my "ultimate" fascination, the Juicy Music preamps...but those will require some saving up for.

"Transcendent Sound presents the best sounding line stage preamp and headphone amp available, both in one box! " That sounds like hyperbole IMHO, which in my experience with Bruce, is typical.

I put together an OTL amplifier based upon his design. He used similar, effusive terms for his own design, but I found it to be pretty mediocre, with at least one important design flaw. So color me a skeptic when modest Bruce reviews his own gear.

Yes, a remote can be added. You can find an ALPS pot with a motor, and a complete kit from folks like Mikkel Simonsen.