transistor matching in Kenwood KR-5030

robthomp

Hi,

I just bought a Kenwood KR-5030 from a guy for cheap because it "didn't work". ( I'm new to amplifier repair/restoration, but I've been an electronic hobbyist on and off over the years.) So far I've fixed the power switch - a well known issue with this amp, cleaned the controls, and cleaned up the relay in the protection circuit which was too crudded up to function. I replaced the caps in the power supply, including the large filter caps. It's working pretty well and sounding good so far.

My question: I've got non-zero DC offset - 15 mV in one channel, 35 mV in the other. I bought a bag of 2SA750's from the auction site, that's the transistor in the input differential pairs, and I'd like to find two tightly matched pairs and put them in. Do I try to match VBE or hFE, or both?

I have tried to read up on this question before posting, but opinions seem to vary a lot and the answers seem to depend on the situation.

Thanks,

Rob

I'd probably throw the eBay transistors in the trash. Most likely counterfeit. When the time comes for transistors use a modern substitute available form an authorized distributor like Mouser, Digikey, etc.

I recently got good results on matching the inputs and mirrors something like +/- 2mv DCO on a non-adjustable machine.

Change the inputs 2SA750 (Q1-4) with KSA992FTA and the 2SC1775's (Q5-8) with KSC1845FTA

Get a small pile of each (like 20 cents each or less when 10+ ordered) and match 8 trans, 4 KSAs, 4 KSCs as close as possible. The F suffixes are pretty high gain as the old ones specced (E or F suffix) were also.

In the DC offset thread IIR 25 mv is the cutoff between dont worry and maybe perhaps look into it. So you have both cases. Matched, with the bias set this amp will sound as good as it will ever. To be thorough, Id replace all the 40 year old small caps in the audio path as well