Transistor question?

kdschmidt

First time post - long time lurker
i have a general question about transistors (BJT type). I'm a novice, currently refurbishing a Pioneer SX-9930 i picked up at a yard sale. i' m clear on the NPN/PNP, post order, etc. I was searching fora source for 2SC2240 transistors, i was under the impression that the suffix letters just described the way they were merchandised. is that the case?
i found a source, but they had two products; 2SC2240 GR (@ .94) and 2SC2240 BL (@ 1.98) ???
what do the suffixes mean that make
such a difference in price?
thanks!!

The codes are hfe ranges. GR is hfe (current gain) 200-400. BL is hfe 350-700.
I'm not a sure but I'm guessing BL's are slightly harder to make, but mainly more preferred and less common.

If you find and download the datasheet for the transistor you are after, there is usually a grid showing the variants and the hFE gain for each variant.

If you refer to the original service manual for your machine, it will tell you the gain ("type") of your original transistor used in the machine, it may even tell you what other grades could be used for replacement parts.

Thanks for the replies!
I had already gotten some of the 2SC2240s off a seller on ebay but I wasnt sure about them. I'm replacing the 2SC1313s on the EQ amp board (as well as the 2SA725s). That thread you gave me the link to has me a little nervous!
The BLs sound good to use but $1.98 each seems a bit steep, I think I'll keep looking, or just get the GRs.
I got some KSA992s for the 725 replacements from a different seller on ebay. The printing looks good on both (the 2240s were advertised as Toshiba and the 992s as Fairchilds), they are, of course, to-92 but they are somewhat smaller than the original transistors. Is that normal for the newer transistors to be smaller than the old ones?

Is that normal for the newer transistors to be smaller than the old ones?