Trouble with my Pioneer SX-626

Ryan Abelman

Hey everyone!

So I just joined and already have questions for the group. I got a Pioneer SX-626 receiver from Goodwill last year. I had it serviced at a local shop here in Los Angeles. I don't think they did a very good job. The lights were dim and not all worked. Then the other day, the dial cord snapped when I stupidly spun the knob too fast. Ugh! So I thought I would try my hand at fixing both issues myself. I have never done anything like this before, so I wanted to give it a shot. I took the case off and saw that the indicator lights were either still missing bulbs or burnt out. The backlight bulbs lighting up the tuner was even more strange. Rather than using normal fuse bulbs, they soldered in little tiny lights. So I was going to desolder it and put fuse bulbs back in (LEDs this time). Then I was going to try to record the turn. Then this happened... This morning I went to take out one of the old burnt out indicator bulbs so I can get replacements. I then turned on the tuner again to check which bulbs were out and it wouldn't turn on. Did I somehow short something? DId I destroy this thing? Any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated. (I have the service manual already and have watched several videos so I think I am capable of changing the bulbs and the cord myself. But this power issue might be beyond my comfort level.) I am bummed because I really like this receiver.

You may have shorted the lamp wiring. Check the fuses.

I don't remember offhand, but I'm pretty sure that there are at least 2 internal fuses, in addition to the three you can check from the rear panel (it is not likely to be the protection fuses).

Before replacing a fuse, make sure you have not shorted or opened a circuit while messing with the lamps.

Last edited: