Troubleshooting a Vector Research VR-5000 - No sound

Discussion in 'Solid State' started by bigberts, Mar 29, 2014.

1. bigberts

bigberts New Member

I recently purchased a Vector Research VR-5000 Receiver off e-Bay. I bought it for sentimental reasons since I had one in college. If I totally screw it up I did not ruin a classic Pioneer/ Sansui/ etc...

I am pretty new to vintage equipment and have very modest electronics skills.

Here is what I have done so far.

1) Read about these issues on this forum
    2) Cleaned the unit inside and out
    3) Used contact cleaner on all the pots (did not touch the tuning capacitor)

4) Powered it on.

When I power it on I get lights, but no sound out of the speakers or the headphone. According to the diagram in the top, the speaker relay protects both the speakers and the headphone jack. Speaker relay looks like it is in good shape, but does not engage.

Speaker Relay Takamisawa MAT 4B-212R

When I check the line out (tape PB) I get clean output from the FM tuner and from an Ipod input with an RCA cable.

4) Checked fuses for continuity

Seemed to be fine

5) Internal Visual inspection.

There are not any visibly failed capacitors.

I thought the amplifier board output transistor might be bad - so I unsolderd and tested it with my MM (not sure if I got the right technique) and I believe it has failed.

It is marked as D357 - 18D and has a T220 form factor and is attached to a board mounted heat sink.

I found a datasheet from

http://www.classiccmp.org/rtellason/transdata/2sd356.pdf

I do not know parameters I have to closely match for the replacement transistor. I need to put this back, so I thought I would replace it with a new one.

Any suggestions on a replacement transistor would be welcome. None of the transistors I found at mouser were exact matches.

5) Next steps

I plan to replace the transistor and the capacitors on the amplifier board

Do any troubleshooting suggested by others on this board.