TT Noob Question

Hirschp1

Hi all, I am, admittedly, a complete noob when it comes to TTs. Regardless of that though, I have the desire to see what the fuss is about, but not the budget currently to embark on a Rega or similar quality endeavour.

However, I found this Realistic / BSR LAB-110 in my basement... I acquired it years ago in a package deal and forgot about it.
IMG_20170917_153706.jpg IMG_20170917_153726.jpg

This thing was COVERED in dust, the plastic cover is still intact and did its job mostly, but I know that it wasn't 100% effective, there's just no way it was. I am unsure of how sensitive a TT like this would be to adverse conditions like 60 year old lath/plaster dust and debris. Should I take it apart and clean it before trying to fire it up?

Yah, I realize as I am typing this is probably a dumb question, but I really don't know so please bear with my ignorance, I'd rather ask than whish I had.

I would remove the platter to make sure there is no dust or debris and then turn it on to see if the motor is running.

Take a photo of the turntable with the platter off so that we can see its guts.

It *may* be capable, once ressurrected, of showing you 'what the fuss is all about'. I'm not sure. BSR is kind of a borderline company when it comes to that, though this was one of their higher end offerings. I would concur with Malden...let's see what kind of drive it has...if it's a belt drive, it may be worth getting up and running and be fairly serviceable.

Thank you DustyOldPile & malden, I will take the platter off tonight when I get home, snap some pics, and post them here.

I am encouraged that there *may* be a chance this thing could be serviceable, even if it's a long shot it at least beats a poke in the eye with a sharp stick!

Kind of coincidental, wanting to play records and already having a turntable. I would say you owe it the chance to do it's thing again - it's fate.