Tubes for my CJ PV-12

Discussion in 'Tube Audio' started by samwise801, May 17, 2018.

1. samwise801

samwise801 AK Subscriber Subscriber

Greetings! I'm bidding on an AK auction, and suppose I should ask before I *acutally* win...does anyone know / care to opine on how well some RCA 5963s would work in my Conrad Johnson PV-12? I'm totally new to tube-audio, so I have no idea what I'm doing...

I presume if the slot calls for a 12AU7 tube, I can put any 12AU7 tube in there and it will work, albeit with differences based on the particulars of the tube in question. Is that correct? And I have no idea what my PV-12 uses its AU7s for, whether it's for a phase splitter function or not.

I guess what I'm really asking is, would this be a dumb auction for me to win if I'm planning to use these only in a PV-12?

Please register to disable this ad.

2. maxhifi

maxhifi AK Subscriber Subscriber

I would say buy European ECC82 tubes. There's only two, and 12AU7s aren't that expensive I'd just throw in a pair of Mullard/Philips/Amperex/Valvo/Telefunken etc, bolt the cover back in place, then sit back and relax, knowing it's about as good as it's gonna get.

3. samwise801

Fair enough, thank you!

My PV-12 does have a phono stage, so there are four add'l tubes to account for over there -- another 12AU7, two 12AX7s, and one 5751. Currently everything in it is stock, and while it seems to be functioning okay it (and it's tube compliment) is 20ish years old...

4. larryderouin

larryderouin Turn it UP, POP? PLLUUEEEZZZZZEE Subscriber