Tuner: No sound except for Multipath

dbxdx5

I'm a relative noob when it comes to fixing tuners and could use some troubleshooting direction. The tuner in question is a Mitsubishi M-F01. When I have it hooked up to a preamp and tune in a station (based on the signal strength meter and lit up "lock" light), there's no sound from either the Fixed or Variable outputs I have to choose from. But if I switch to the FM Multipath outputs, I get music.

2017-04-24 21.02.37.jpg

Of course, it may be just a matter of me studying the schematic and looking for leaky capacitors and bad solder joints.

Could be muting and or alignment. You are hearing the detector out. This is before the MPX section. If you get a locked stereo light, the MPX is probably ok and your problem would be in the ouput amp/buffer or muting circuit.

Could be muting and or alignment. You are hearing the detector out. This is before the MPX section. If you get a locked stereo light, the MPX is probably ok and your problem would be in the ouput amp/buffer or muting circuit.

This helps. Thanks.

One other thought: Could the symptom described also be due to dirty tuner gangs?

Doubtful.. Doesn't hurt to clean, and may help with operation once you get audio, but not your issue here.

Yep, I was grasping there...

Found a few bad caps and decided to replace most of the electrolytics while I'm at it. I'll let you know how it goes.

I sort of have the same issue with a Kenwood KA-9900. All three meters seem to show that I have a signal that is tuned, stereo light is on, and deviation meter is bouncing, but no sound. I found a blown fuse on the power supply board, replaced it since it had a rough ride in shipping, but blew again.

That's as far as I've gone for the moment as I am moving this week. Might be a while before I can get back to it. Good Luck.