Turntable help

glenwcar

Taking the HiFi Road
I am new to this game and in the process of puchasing a "vintage" receiver/amp/integrated. My next step will be to replace the gemini turntable that I have. What is the best bang/quality for the buck?
I gave away a Pioneer PL-550 about 16 years ago, along with all my vinyl, (I sold that)(Iknow,Iknow).
So to you that know, What should I be looking for? Tables, cartidges et all.
Thanks for helping this (recovering) old fool.

Welcome to Ak Glen.

Can you give us an idea of how much you are looking to spend? Are you looking just for turntable and cartridge suggestions or also the other stuff as well? Once you give a little more info, you should get alot of suggestions.

Hi Glen, I'm going to assume you're wishing to also stay vintage with the turntable, yet want something that will offer great sound, and also be a very attractive turntable, hopefully making you forget about the sad loss of the Pioneer table years ago.

Yes, there were many very nice Pioneers over the years, as well as many nice Technics Tables, and many of these can be gotten for virtually peanuts.

My buddy seems to pick up lots of these nice Technics at yard/garage sales in florida.

I just earlier mentioned Denon Tables in another thread, and Denon made some real beauties years ago.
I own a beautiful Denon DP-2550 as a spare table, and some of the nice models of Denon I've always liked, and admired, were the DP-2000, the DP-2500, DP-2550, DP-59L, and especially, one of my all time vintage favs, the Denon DP-60L.

The DP-60L doesn't pop up on ebay quite that often, but I have seen a few mint examples over the last couple of years, even though I don't search ebay that often for them.